I’m going for it

It’s taken me long enough but after four months of blogging about getting more out of life, writing a bucket list, a spot of mentoring from three inspirational entrepreneurs when I was actually on a course learning to become a mentor myself, reading a book called How to find fulfilling work, a chance encounter with a violin teacher in a coffee shop, and lots of supportive comments from friends and family who’ve said I’ve finally nailed it, I’ve realised that it’s time to go for it.

I love my 9-5 job, but I’ve always felt there’s something more out there for me. I’ve found a way I can make a slow transition to self employment and the feeling that I can create my own future is really exciting.

I work as an accountant, I have a massive passion for people’s ideas and I’ve always wanted to be an entrepreneur. For a long time I thought I’d love to sell something, and my ideas have ranged from running a kitchenware shop which eventually turned into a homeware business which I ran online with a friend for a while, having a craft business, right through to becoming a fitness instructor. I even had a plan to open a gourmet hot dog stall (not joking!). I get really excited when anyone has a new idea, I want to get involved, to encourage them and to help them see it through, but having run through many many potential business ideas I’ve come to realise that my own personal strengths aren’t in selling a product, but in the finance side of running a business, and actually that that in itself is a business.

So that’s what I’m going to do.

Over the past few months I’ve researched whether with my background I can start up my own accountancy practice, but because my experience comes from another industry and because I’m not prepared to take a job in another industry for several years until I’m up to speed, I can’t. With a bit more training though, I can set myself up as a bookkeeper and share my skills in that way, I can run my own business, I can help people with their books and tax returns, and many other things related to running the finance side of their businesses. I’m proud to say that I’ve already passed two of the 7 exams necessary to get started with my own bookkeeping firm and I’m awaiting the results of my third. Finally I know what I need to do and that I’m on my way.

I looked back at my blog posts and realised that I usually blog with strategies and ideas for how to become more confident or to achieve your life goals, but I don’t really tell you about my own goals or how I’m following my own advice. Today I wanted to put my money where my mouth is and say, look I’m doing it, it’s happening!

And… you can too!

My next steps are to work my way through the exams and get qualified and then start promoting myself and start taking on some clients. Once things pick up, I’m hoping to go part time at my office job so I can focus on building my own business, I can’t wait to get started.

Trying to decide how I can follow my passion and work for myself has been stressful and at times completely overwhelming. Once I started to get an idea I actually found I was afraid of it, I told myself I couldn’t possibly do it, that it wouldn’t work for many reasons and I put barriers in place which convinced me it wasn’t even worth looking into. Funnily enough I wrote a post about overcoming your barriers only the other day, and I had to take my own advice. Having spoken to many people about my plans now though, I realise that although there are a few barriers in the way – having to study again was never in my plan – I could overcome them and it would be worth it because people actually believe in my idea.

My advice for today is if you have an idea you want to pursue, talk to people about it. It’s amazing how peoples different view points can help you see things differently, how people can help you overcome barriers. I’d also say, research it, and don’t rule anything out until you absolutely have all the facts, never say “it’ll never work” because somebody else might just know a way that it could.

I’m looking forward to updating you as I pass my exams and set up my business, it’s an exciting time! I’d love to hear from you if you’re taking steps towards your own exciting dreams.

2 thoughts on “I’m going for it

  1. Woo well done! Very exciting. I really want to set up my own business in digital marketing, but I’m only 22 so at the moment I want to build up my agency experience. My whole family are self-employed/run their own businesses and it’s in my blood haha.

    eleanor
    elleanorwears.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Eleanor, I’m really excited to finally get going with something I really want to do. Great idea to get some agency experience and lots of contacts before you go freelance, and brilliant to be able to pull on the experience of your family who know all about self employment, you’ll be great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

